Meet the disability Royal Commissioners

17 June 2019
  • Who are the people running the disability Royal Commission?

    Meet them in this easy read blog for people with intellectual disability.

  • Ronald Sackville
    Mr Sackville is the Chair of the disability Royal Commission.

    He was a judge and a Professor of Law.

    He says “People with disability and their advocates will help us understand the issues.”

  • Alastair McEwin
    You may recognise Mr McEwin.

    He was the Disability Discrimination Commissioner at the Australian Human Rights Commission.

    He has lots of experience promoting the rights of people with disability.

  • Barbara Bennett
    Ms Bennett worked for the Australian Government

    She knows a lot about how governments can help stop violence against women and children.

  • Rhonda Galbally
    Ms Galbally is a Professor.

    She has been a leader in a lot of companies

    She was also on the board of the NDIA.

    The NDIA runs the NDIS.

  • Andrea Mason
    Ms Mason knows a lot about Aboriginal communities and how to make life better for Aboriginal people.

    She believes telling the truth can make things better.

  • John Ryan
    Mr Ryan was a politician in the NSW Parliament.

    As a member of Parliament he worked on disability services.

  • The Commissioners want to make things

    They will

    • listen to people tell their story.
    • support people to speak up.
    • Then they will tell the Government what needs to change.
  • If you want to learn more about the Royal Commission

    Sign up to our easy read enews.

    Or follow us on Facebook.

    If you have a question call us on
    1800 424 065.

Share online