COVID rules for Regional NSW

21 September 2021
  • The NSW Government has changed the rules for some parts of NSW.

    Some areas in Regional NSW have less rules.



  • The new rules for these regional areas start on Saturday 11 September 2021.

    People who live in these areas in Regional NSW can now do more things.

  • People in these areas do not have to stay in lockdown.

    This means you do not have to stay at home.

  • Meeting people at home and outside

    • you can have up to 5 visitors at your home.
    • you can be with up to 20 people outside.
  • Some places will reopen with less people allowed than usual

    • Restaurants, hotels and pubs.
    • Shops
    • Hairdressers and nail salons.
    • Gyms and indoor recreation facilities.
    • Swimming pools.
    • Stadiums, racecourses, theme parks and zoos.
    • Events you buy a ticket for that are outside
    • Cinemas, theatres and museums.
  • You can stand if you are drinking outside in a pub or restaurant.

  • Schools

    Schools will re-open with Level 3 COVIDSafe measures in place.

    Your school will tell you what this means for you.

  • Weddings

    50 people can be at a wedding.

    You must sit down when you eat or drink.

    You can dance.

  • Funerals

    50 people can be at a funeral.

    You must sit down when you eat or drink.


  • Places of worship

    You can go to a place or worship like a church or a mosque.

    You cannot sing.


  • Travel

    Caravan parks and camping grounds can open.

    You can travel with more than one person in a car.

  • Face masks

    You must wear a mask when you are

    • on public transport
    • in a shop or shopping centre
    • in an office or bank
    • on a plane

    Children under 12 do not need to wear masks.

    If you work at a pub or a restaurant you have to wear a mask when you are outside at work.


  • These new rules do not cover all of Regional NSW.

    You still have to follow the lockdown rules if you live in

    • Bathurst
    • Bourke
    • Broken Hill
    • Byron Bay
    • Central Coast
    • Central Darling
    • Cessnock
    • Cowra
    • Dubbo
    • Eurobodalla
    • Goulburn Mulwarre
    • Kempsey
    • Kiama
    • Lake Macquarie
    • Lithgow
    • Maitland
    • Mid-Coast
    • Mid-Western
    • Narromine
    • Newcastle
    • Port Stephens
    • Queanbeyan-Palerang
    • Shellharbour
    • Shoalhaven
    • Snowy Monaro
    • Tweed
    • Walgett
    • Wingecarribee
    • Yass Valley

    These rules do not cover Greater Sydney.

    Easy Read information with the latest rules for all of Greater Sydney and NSW.

  • NSW Health information about rules for these areas.

    The rules can change.

    For the latest rules go to the NSW Government website or call the National Coronavirus Helpline on 1800 020 080.

  • If you feel sick

    • Stay home
    • Call your GP or the National Coronavirus Helpline on 1800 020 080.

    If it is an emergency call 000.

  • For more information call the Disability Gateway on 1800 643 787.

Share online